Gewandhaus Brass Quintet



Lukas Beno – trumpet
Jonathan Müller – trumpet
Jan Wessely – horn
Tobias Hasselt – trombone
David Cribb – tuba

Early in 2005, five Brass Soloists from the “Gewandhaus” Orchestra founded the “Leipzig Chamber Brass” in the classic formation of 2 trumpets, horn, trombone, and tuba. All members of this ensemble had already acquired long and diverse experience both as soloists and in chamber music and they shared the desire to play brass quintet music at the highest level. Their debut concert in December 2005 took place in the Gewandhaus in Leipzig and was received very enthusiastically by the audience. Intensive rehearsals and successful concerts in Europe followed.

In September 2008 the ensemble was honoured with the title “Gewandhaus Brass Quintet” and since is one of only three chamber ensembles from the legendary orchestra being allowed to carry the prestigious “Gewandhaus” in their name.

The dedicated musicians are continually expanding their diverse repertoire ranging from renaissance and baroque, through classical to contemporary and jazz. A preview of future concerts presents fascinating and unusual programs.